Wednesday, April 28, 2010

Mini schmini




Yep, and here is how I try to fit in a mini dress. Why try? Well, you see, the modern manufacturers have this skinny chick in mind, the one that has no ass. And although I am a skinny chick and a usual size 0, unlike most of them I DO HAVE ASS. And a nice, juicy one at that. Not that fugly elephant rear that Kardashians like to flaunt. Yikes. Nope, mine is of higher breed, plump and tight.


So all the mini dresses I try on fit me fine in the bust and in the waist area... until we hit the bum. Then the problems start. What? 'Xcuse me? You have an ass? Really? Wait? Are you a woman? - Umm, yeah.. Last time I checked... Thus I am better off wearing jersey, knit dresses, of a stretchy fabric, that would accommodate my ass SANS CULOTTE, naturally. :) hehhehe.





The flowery black number is from Forever21 and the stretchy magenta number is from Urban Outfitters.



I saw it on their site, on sale for $20. Perfect, just as much as I have and I need a new dress to take with me to Brazil (I have this weird idee-fixe to wear at least one or two new items whenever I go on a trip, it just makes me feel more peculiar, more in a fantasy land-like, it's almost like it's me and it's not me and I can create myself, make myself be whatever want to be, tell whichever stories that come to my mind, etc... such Alice in Wonderland...)





Ass view s'il vous plait...




Yet, with tax (oh this goddam sales tax!! who invented it? can we tear his balls out of his crotch?!) and shipping it amounted to almost 29 bucks. No way Jose. I got in my car a day after and drove to the nearest store on Melrose.




Chances were slim, as Urban Outfitters are known for having hap-hazard stock in different locations, and I guess their model of sales does not allow them to keep track of what is available and what is not at any given shop. Basically I was gambling. But risk is noble. I won! It was the last item on their sales rack, size S (hallefreakingluja!), and guess what? At only 10 bucks!






I am a happy cookie.

Saturday, April 24, 2010




Well I was thinking. I was thinking about the girls who never buy cheap clothes. Or lets say about those who only buy expensive clothes. Taking into consideration my lifestyle and all the stuff I post in this blog being merely a brik-o-brak of sales all over the world, snatched for pennies, I am supposed to dislike those girls, right? Well, I don't. Buying clothes on a dime is not a principle - (the not paying for parking, though, IS!), it's more of a necessity, however, I can't say I go lick the windows of Rodeo drive and squeal for the next Prada or Chloe bag that I can't afford. Nope. Luckily, my inner fashionista is not a slave of labels, even the cute ones. And I do firmly believe that thousands of dollars charged for a single item (let's suppose it is not made of 5-karat diamonds for a second) is just a marketing strategy for the one with the wallet to feel exclusive. Nothing wrong with that. We all have just one life on this planet, let's live it to the full, whatever each of us implies by that word. I do, however, agree that there is a certain threshold after which any given item becomes just a chunk of extra dough for the "name". And it's sometimes funny to hear how certain people claim that "the brand is nothing" and how they don't care about the "labels". Well, yes, honey, YOU don't. THEY care for you. They, who make you buy this pair of branded jeans, they who made you believe that the color of this season is fuchsia, they who know what you will wear next spring. they need to make money off you and they found the way. Which is not necessarily wrong! All I want us all is simply to be honest with ourselves. Pas plus.

So! Back to the chicks. I read certain revelations of a cute girl about impossibility of finding anything that fits her in cheaper store chains. That's why she has to buy designer products. I don't argue that a respected fashion house supposedly answers for their quality and puts their reputation on the game. I don't argue that a certain brand may be manufacturing jeans based on molds that fit best certain body types. I just want everybody to be extra aware that the initial price of a pair of jeans made in China or Indonesia or Macau - and tell me which jeans are not made there nowadays? - will not be more than a few dollar bills. The rest is what you pay for the administrative labour and PR.

Then again, I only don't understand those people who don't like to use their imagination when they shop, or when they decide on a look. Yes, I agree, nowadays the on stop advertising and publicity influences our brains even before we are able to THINK of what we are going to wear. It's extremely hard to come up with something new, something fresh, something THAT IS NOT LIKE ANYTHING ELSE. That's why, in these times of corporations and most powerful "zombifying" I cherish like no one else those people who go to vintage stores, flea markets, who snatch a piece from there and a piece from here and CREATE something unique, or semi unique - whatever - but they try. It's easy to swipe your black AMEX and get the full set "of that mannequin in the window, please". It's hard to find that black AMEX (and what did you think I would say? Ahahhaa).

With all this said, I am in no way a "model citizen". I am just an apprentice. I love to look, to drink the inspiration in, till the last drop. And I love to keep my bank account safe. And if somebody has more funds to spend on outfits, it's all good. Just as long as you are not running after something you are not, and losing non stop. Then it would be the time to think.

Saturday, April 17, 2010

LWD = Little White Dress



So. I thought, why every woman is supposed to have an LBD? And what's wrong with having an LWD as well?


Besides, they look so adorably good with some chunky boots. And, if you are up to it, some motorcycle leather jacket with a bunch of zippers would look nice.




I don't have cool moto boots, but I have cool brown suede boots I got in New York.

Polka dots!




This one is a bit frisky session. I just loved the combination of the swimsuit polka dot bottoms and my white Urban Outfitters vest.




No, I normally don't wear it on the naked body, but it felt right for the pictures.



Rock-n-Roll! Stripes and boots.



Shirt is Roxy, leggings are Urban Outfitters, boots are from three hundred years ago, got them on Delia's site.



I am not a great fan of black and white combination. But some are funky.





Saturday, April 10, 2010

Bouncy skirts




I do love them. It's difficult to wear one, since California lifestyle is so damn casual or so damn Urban-outfitters-and-American-Apparel simplicity like, but whenever I can, I try to add a little pure feminine flirt in my life.



This one is from H&M.

Full height look.

Friday, April 9, 2010

Glasses, glasses, and glasses.





I haven't forgotten about this blog. I have just been really down. This is why today, as soon as I got slightly better, I post three outfits...





This one is harem pants from UO and a cool tee from Aeropostale.





My ubiquitous aviator glasses...

Pink in the evening...




Pretty very light almost ephemere type of dress... Of very tender pink with dots.. It's a tad transparent.. After a while I just came to terms with it and don't give a fuck anymore. No under skirts, to hell with them. They will only spoil it...




Me - as a sophisticated urban witch...




It was evening, already dark.. And my little furry beast was lurking behind me on the roof...

La petite French maid.




Here is a cool number I was wearing the other day. Semi-shirt, as I call it. Probably from Urban Outfitters. Who else could be selling this? From the front - frisky french maid,



from the back... Hehhee. Really, nothing.



Loving it with shorts and chunky Gap shoes.

And in these pictures I finally get it when they say that I look like a French girl...



Totally posing... I am never shy when it's just me and my cam...

Saturday, April 3, 2010

Who needs a bra?!




Honestly - I rarely wear a bra. And if I do, it is usually a sports bra or an American Apparel criss cross bra - which is just a piece of cloth. I also have a couple of bras from Urban Outfitters and from H&M - but those are transparent frilly boy-friend-lover-take-it-off-me-in-the-bedroom type of stuff.



I don't like wires, I hate push ups, I detest padding. I have what I have and really, there is no way I will try to present what I have for something it is not. If mother nature only had an A cup for me, so be it. I won't pass it for a double D.






And although I rarely wear them, I LOVE dresses with open back. My boobies don't need much support, and wearing flirty but yet sophisticated numbers like this one is pure pleasure... Now I just have to work out more, to have a back like Vivian's, so that I have something to show! hehe.



This is just the view of the dress. It's very simple, 80-s inspired, and I love the stripey top and the solid bottom... It might get a tad see-through, but not too much, I hope.



Oh yea! And I am brunette again. Well, not too much - since as it turns out my hair does not hold the dye very well. Still, light brown, or whatever it is called, let's hope it will last for a while.

Rompers!




Frankly speaking, I found out about rompers only a year or two ago. I was apprehensive and suspicious at first. Then I labeled them as "unwearable" on my type of body. And then I rethought...

I like them. And I want to show the three new ones that I have.



The one I wanted for so long - with flowers and high waist. I found it in Papaya, and it was something around 18 dollars. Sweet deal.




Frankly, I am rather suspicious of Papaya and I think their prices are too high for the quality, and come on, let's be honest - they are Forever 21 wanna-be's (or maybe a franchise?)....




And especially looking at their "sale" prices, something tells me those two are somehow connected... Hmmm..




This one I missed so much in Rio, when I went to the beach.




This one would be so convenient - just pull it on, over the swimsuit.



At first I was very wary of the coral color, but after trying the same style in navy, black and gray - coral was the best eye pleaser. And a shot of my touche:



And finally romper numero TRES:




And to be honest, I have nothing that clicks in my heart when I say San Diego, but this one was cute, it was gray, the color I secretly wanted, and it was on sale. For practically nothing.