Saturday, April 24, 2010




Well I was thinking. I was thinking about the girls who never buy cheap clothes. Or lets say about those who only buy expensive clothes. Taking into consideration my lifestyle and all the stuff I post in this blog being merely a brik-o-brak of sales all over the world, snatched for pennies, I am supposed to dislike those girls, right? Well, I don't. Buying clothes on a dime is not a principle - (the not paying for parking, though, IS!), it's more of a necessity, however, I can't say I go lick the windows of Rodeo drive and squeal for the next Prada or Chloe bag that I can't afford. Nope. Luckily, my inner fashionista is not a slave of labels, even the cute ones. And I do firmly believe that thousands of dollars charged for a single item (let's suppose it is not made of 5-karat diamonds for a second) is just a marketing strategy for the one with the wallet to feel exclusive. Nothing wrong with that. We all have just one life on this planet, let's live it to the full, whatever each of us implies by that word. I do, however, agree that there is a certain threshold after which any given item becomes just a chunk of extra dough for the "name". And it's sometimes funny to hear how certain people claim that "the brand is nothing" and how they don't care about the "labels". Well, yes, honey, YOU don't. THEY care for you. They, who make you buy this pair of branded jeans, they who made you believe that the color of this season is fuchsia, they who know what you will wear next spring. they need to make money off you and they found the way. Which is not necessarily wrong! All I want us all is simply to be honest with ourselves. Pas plus.

So! Back to the chicks. I read certain revelations of a cute girl about impossibility of finding anything that fits her in cheaper store chains. That's why she has to buy designer products. I don't argue that a respected fashion house supposedly answers for their quality and puts their reputation on the game. I don't argue that a certain brand may be manufacturing jeans based on molds that fit best certain body types. I just want everybody to be extra aware that the initial price of a pair of jeans made in China or Indonesia or Macau - and tell me which jeans are not made there nowadays? - will not be more than a few dollar bills. The rest is what you pay for the administrative labour and PR.

Then again, I only don't understand those people who don't like to use their imagination when they shop, or when they decide on a look. Yes, I agree, nowadays the on stop advertising and publicity influences our brains even before we are able to THINK of what we are going to wear. It's extremely hard to come up with something new, something fresh, something THAT IS NOT LIKE ANYTHING ELSE. That's why, in these times of corporations and most powerful "zombifying" I cherish like no one else those people who go to vintage stores, flea markets, who snatch a piece from there and a piece from here and CREATE something unique, or semi unique - whatever - but they try. It's easy to swipe your black AMEX and get the full set "of that mannequin in the window, please". It's hard to find that black AMEX (and what did you think I would say? Ahahhaa).

With all this said, I am in no way a "model citizen". I am just an apprentice. I love to look, to drink the inspiration in, till the last drop. And I love to keep my bank account safe. And if somebody has more funds to spend on outfits, it's all good. Just as long as you are not running after something you are not, and losing non stop. Then it would be the time to think.

No comments:

Post a Comment